1842 Tibet Kashmir Agreement Upsc

Published by bedrich under Allgemein.

There are two other Sino-Indian border areas. The central sector runs from the top of Gya to the intersection of Bhutan, Arunachal Pradesh and Tibet. India`s rights are again based on the contracts of 1648 and 1842. The border of Uttar Pradeshs Barahoti was also the subject of diplomatic correspondence in 1889-1890 and 1914. In 1954, India signed a trade agreement on Tibet with China, allowing passage through five Himalayas – shipki-La, Mana-La, Niti-La, Kungri Bingri, Darma-La and Lipu Leu. According to India, these should therefore be the main markers of the border. The Dogra Tibet War[1] [2] or the Sino-Sikh War[3] was waged between the troops of Dogra`s nobleman Gulab Singh of Jammu under the High-Hoheist of the Sikh Empire and Tibet under the High Heis of Qing China. [2] Gulab Singh`s commander was capable General Zorawar Singh Kahluria who, after the conquest of Ladakh, tried to push his borders to control trade routes to Ladakh. [4] The campaign of Zorawar Singh, who suffered from the effects of bad weather, suffered defeat at Minsar (or Missar) and Singh was killed. [5] The Tibetans then advanced towards Ladakh. Gulab Singh sent reinforcements under the command of his nephew Jawahir Singh. A battle that followed near Leh in 1842 led to a Tibetan defeat. The Treaty of Chushul was signed in 1842 to maintain the status quo ante bellum.

[6] This agreement is in the interest of friendship between the Lhasa authorities and Shri Maharajah Sahib and Maharajah Gulab Singh. On the thirteenth day of the eighth month of the Year of the Water Tiger (September 17, 1842), Lhasa`s representative Kalon Surkang, the investigator Dapon Peshi, Shri Raja Sahib, sat with Kunchok (God) as witness. This document was established to ensure the lasting friendship between Tibetans and Ladakhis. We have agreed not to harm ourselves and to worry about the interests of our own territories. We agree to continue the trade in tea and fabric under the same conditions as in the past and we will not harm the Ladakhi traders who come to Tibet. If one of our subjects drifts in your country, it should not be protected. We will forget the differences between the authority of Lhasa and Shri Maharajah. Today`s agreement will remain firmly entrenched forever. Kunchok (God), Mount Kailash, Lake De Manasarowar and Khochag Jowo were called as witnesses to this contract. The Sikhs annexed Ladakh in 1834. In 1842, the Sikhs invaded Tibet without success and eventually entered into a non-aggression contract. Subsequently, after defeating the Sikhs in the last Anglo-Sikh War in 1846, the British annexed Kashmir, including Ladakh.

But much like mysore after the fall of Tippu in 1799, the British did not choose to directly manage Kashmir.